RSS Feed

Whole Wheat Banana Muffins

Posted on

When brainstorming ideas of what foods I should make and put recipes of on my blog, I consulted my boyfriend, Chris (who I think is going to end up benefiting greatly from my blogging ventures).  He immediately answered: muffins!  It is, he argued, the perfect time of year for muffins and quick breads.  They’re warm and hearty and satisfying.

You can’t argue with that.

A couple of notes before we get to the recipe:

I use whole wheat pastry flour.  I don’t do half whole wheat and half white because I feel like that kind of defeats the purpose of setting out to healthify a baking recipe.  So what if the texture is a bit denser?  That makes it seem more like real food to me.  A quick bread, in my mind, should be more like a bread than a pastry.  Muffins are muffins. . . not cupcakes!

That being said, these will still definitely satisfy a sweet tooth.  I always hang on to my bananas until they’re very, very, very ripe before making muffins out of them.  My roommates were probably thinking that my bananas were beyond use . . . a week ago.  The longer they sit there, the sweeter they get.

Also, I use agave nectar/syrup for my sweetener, though if you don’t have that, you can certainly use the same amount of honey.  Though if you’ve never used agave, I highly recommend it.  It’s very sweet, so a little goes a long way.  And it has a much lower Glycemic index than sugar (that is, it breaks down more slowly in the body, so it won’t cause the same intense spike in blood sugar and resulting demand for insulin).  It has an extremely pleasant taste and is great for everything from baking to putting in your morning oatmeal.

I also finish these off with a very light dusting of raw sugar that gives a nice little crunch on the top, a tiny bit of added sweetness, and just a hint of sparkle.

Whole Wheat Banana Muffins

Wet Ingredients

  • 2-3 very ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1/2 cup plain, nonfat yogurt (I use Greek style for the extra protein)
  • 1/4 unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/2 cup agave
  • 1/2 cup olive or canola oil
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract

Dry Ingredients

  • 2 1/2 cups whole wheat pastry flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg

Preheat oven to 400° F. Line muffin tin with cupcake liners, as these can get a little sticky.  Spray liners or tin with olive oil spray or Pam.

Mix all wet ingredients together well.  Add dry ingredients and stir until just combined, not too smooth.

Fill each liner 2/3 – 3/4  full with batter.  Bake for 25-30 minutes.  Tops should be lightly browned, but muffins should not be dry.

Sprinkle sparingly with raw sugar crystals.  A little bit goes a long way, 1/2 – 1 tsp should be more than adequate for the entire batch.

Makes 12-15 muffins

One response »

  1. Do you know the muffin man? JK Looks delicious!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

