RSS Feed

My Thanksgiving Resolution. (Also, things from my lunchbox)

Posted on

image

I am currently typing this on my phone as my hair color marinates on my head. I straight up love technology.
Anyways, more to the point, I took a picture of stuff I ate this week! It wasn’t cute, but it fed me. As you can see, I had a lettuce wrapped burger with sauteed onions and mushrooms. Also, deviled eggs with homemade mayo. And two mandarins. Delicious. And afterwards, I had a nice spot of loose leaf tea. Because I love a nice spot of tea at my desk in the afternoon. I am a nerd.
Not exactly fancy food, but the point is to eat well. Not to eat fancy.
Along those same lines, I decided to lay myself some ground rules for Thanksgiving. I’m sure a lot of people would love to tell me what a pretentious over-achiever I’m being for not letting myself go crazy and eat everything in sight on Thanksgiving of all days. But to those people, I respond with the following: why is your tradition to eat until you rue the day you were born on a day set aside for gratitude?
Seriously, though. I have been thinking about this lately, and the thing I am most thankful for is a healthy body that serves me well. Why do I abuse it by stuffing myself so full that all I want to do is sleep and vomit? That doesn’t show a lot of gratitude. So this year, I’ve decided on some ground rules to get my body through the day without feeling too neglected or abused.
1. No bread products. No one is making rolls or stuffing from scratch, so it really isn’t worth it.
2. One dessert per completed workout. 50 burpees for each additonal treat I want (to be completed before consumption). I hate burpees, so this makes me evaluate how much I really want something.
3. Go on my annual run with Chris in the evening. This year, we will be breaking it up with some bodyweight moves. I think we should start calling it the Gratitude Run.
That’s it. Those are my guidelines. Nothing too complicated or hardcore. Just bringing some health and sense back into a day normally filled with debauchery and digestive distress.
Steal my idea if you want. Go crazy on food if you want. I just felt like I needed to write it down and share it, because now it’s a commitment. Feel free to follow up to see how I did!

2 responses »

  1. i want to steal your idea. i really do. ok i think i’m gonna do it. this is gonna be tough… happy thanksgiving, by the way!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

